In Tribute to Salima

 

Owl 1

Salima
Written by Mel Brake

Even though I did not know you
I thought about you on your funeral day
I prayed that Goddess would bless your soul
and help your family through the service

 

I learned that you loved children, poetry and your family
That people called you an Angel and that your nickname was Fatima
Like the Virgin Mary

 

I thought my connection to you was because you were the girlfriend of my nephew
I wondered how your mother must have felt to loss her first born to first death
Because you are the generation of my nephew and we worried a lot about you children

 

The challenges faced you children are nothing like what we went through
and we sometimes loss you children to crime in the streets and to apathy
Your death today was like my nephew

Owl2

Even though I did not know you
I thought about you on your funeral day
I prayed that Goddess would bless your soul
and help your family through the service

 

But you Salima rose above these challenges and got a good education and did meaningful work and loved others

 

I saw an owl bird sitting in a big tree like she was waiting for me
She was fearless like you and did not move away as I inched closer
It has been said the owl carries the spirit of the dead to heaven
And as I walked under the tree the owl looked at me and then
Flew off into the West as the sun was setting in the sky
Furrowing your soul to a new life

About melbrake

Mel Brake is an awarding winning Philadelphia based poet/singer/song writer, whose poetry has appeared in several media outlets and journals, including Philadelphia Poets 2007, 2008 and 2009, Mad Poets Review, Fox Chase Review, and The Philadelphia Bulletin. In addition, Long Island Sounds: An Anthology of Poetry, Writing Outside The Lines (WOSTL) Anthology, Word Riot Magazine, The New Verse News, Word Salad Magazine and Poetry Ink 2010 has published his works. Recently, his band, the Mel Brake Family Band performed a benefit concert at Cross Road Café in Delaware County. He is the Founder and Executive Director of MPW, a non-profit organization, focusing on using the arts to reach children in the Tri-state area. In addition, his first chapbook, “Obama Poetry Project” is available at: MelBrakEpress.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

