President Obama Wrote Me A Second Letter-January 17, 2017

I am very saddened this week about President Obama leaving office, however, we must remember that the work that he started and believed in as President will continue with him and us as citizens of America and Light Warriors on Planet Earth.

When I first wrote President Obama it was during his first time in office as President and I was running a non-profit to help improve the life of young black children-last night I had a dream that I was still doing that work.

In my letter to President Obama I shared a poem that I wrote to him called, Raise Up Young Black Boy, the poem was about our responsibility as citizens of the world to be our brother’s keeper and to help a child in need.

I was thrilled back then when President Obama personally wrote me, my mother has the letter in a gold frame, and I am thrilled yet again to receive a letter from President Obama as he leaves office but I am reminded of the reasons why we as Americans voted him twice in office and that we still have a mission that we believe in and to fight with Goddess Light for hope, charity and love, a brighter future for us and our children and until victory is won.

Thank you, again President Barack Obama and thank you for for your service as President Of the United and the gauntlet that we as American passed to you, you are passing back to us. May Goddess Bless you and your family, and may Goddess Bless America and the World.

The White House, Washington

Dear Mel:

One of the most important things I’ve done as President is read messages from Americans like you.  And whether you sat down to write me a letter back in 2009 or just last week, I wanted to say thank you for writing.

Letters like yours have given me the chance to hear the real stories that make up the ever changing narrative of America.  They are stories of your setbacks and successes, your fears and your hopes not just for today—but for the country and the world we’ll leave to our children and our grandchildren.  I want you to know that I was listening.  I heard your stories.  And you made me a better President.

In 2014, a young mom took a chance and shared her family’s story with me.  She said she knew that “staying silent about what you see and what needs changing never makes any difference.”  She was right.  And so, while serving you has been the greatest privilege of my life, I want you to know that when I leave the White House, I’ll still hold the most important title of all:  that of citizen.

And as a proud American citizen, I believe that we are a constant work in progress.  Our success has never been certain.  None of our journey has been preordained.  There’s always been a gap between our highest ideals and the reality we witness every day.  But what makes us exceptional—what makes us Americans—is that we have fought wars, and passed laws, and reformed systems, and organized unions, and staged protests, and launched mighty movements to close that gap.  To bring the promise and the practice of America into closer alignment.  To form that more perfect union.

So our collective future depends on our collective willingness to uphold our duties as citizens:  to vote, to speak out, and to stand up for others knowing that each of us is only here because somebody, somewhere, stood up for us.  And for the rest of my days, I promise I will be right there alongside you, continuing to do my part to build a better, more prosperous, more diverse and inclusive America—an America with a future full of hope.

From all of us in the Obama family—thank you for writing.

All the best,

Barack Obama

Visit WhiteHouse.gov

 

https://melbrake.wordpress.com

 

About melbrake

Mel Brake is an awarding winning Philadelphia based poet/singer/song writer, whose poetry has appeared in several media outlets and journals, including Philadelphia Poets 2007, 2008 and 2009, Mad Poets Review, Fox Chase Review, and The Philadelphia Bulletin. In addition, Long Island Sounds: An Anthology of Poetry, Writing Outside The Lines (WOSTL) Anthology, Word Riot Magazine, The New Verse News, Word Salad Magazine and Poetry Ink 2010 has published his works. Recently, his band, the Mel Brake Family Band performed a benefit concert at Cross Road Café in Delaware County. He is the Founder and Executive Director of MPW, a non-profit organization, focusing on using the arts to reach children in the Tri-state area. In addition, his first chapbook, “Obama Poetry Project” is available at: MelBrakEpress.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

